Goodbye Bollywood, I knew thee well

The time has arrived for a verdict, I’ve had enough of the slapstick-comedy Bollywood cinema, and with the recent release of Housefull 2 and Agent Vinod, it’s about time I bid goodbye to Bollywood films as my fellow non-residential colleagues have a long time ago.

Image

Not too long ago, Hindi movies were finally innovative, and conceptual of issues more than just cliched romance. While blockbuster hits like Three Idiots and Taare Zameen Par educated the country, lesser known movies like Udaan were surprisingly heart-warming. And then arrived the Salman-Khan-dom. I attach the series of outrageously intolerable flicks to this very famous actor’s name since he’s the only celebrity to get away with it. Regardless, the public vote is in his favor, and so long as the Indian youth continue to dance to his towel-tracks, there’s nothing that the cinema can do……….except follow his lead.

And say hello to 2011 where series of flop Indian movies with unbelievably silly content flourished in the native and urban parts of the country. Did I hope better for 2012? I sure did, but three months down the year, and three rather cheap and one desperately-trying-not-to-imitate-the bourne-series flicks later, I’ve decided to join my generation of Non-Residential-Indian’s in staying away from Hindi movies as far away as I can. 

My only thoughts of Salman Khan, I shall fondly remember him as the ever-handsome young lad from Maine Pyaar Kiya. As for the degenerating content of Indian cinema, I send out an SOS call to Rajkumar Hirani, Farhan Akhtar, Karan Johar and Aamir Khan. Save your country’s reputation for the sake of your future generation and the population living abroad. Movies are an easy medium to help us stay patriotic (besides cricket 😉  

One thought on “Goodbye Bollywood, I knew thee well

  1. Whats up! I just want to give an enormous thumbs up for the good data you could have right here on this post.

    I will probably be coming again to your blog for more soon.

What do you think?

